— The Council of American Master Mariners, Inc. —

About CAMM


About Us History Consitution By-Laws Mission
Board of Governors Officers Committees

The Council of American Master Mariners, Inc.

Founded 1936

Incorporated in the State of New York on November 26, 1963

National Constitution and By-Laws approved January 30, 1967
Amended: 1971, 1976, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2014,2016

General Preamble to the Constitution
"An adequate, efficient, prosperous MERCHANT MARINE is necessary for the naval and military safety and economic well being of the UNITED STATES."

Throughout the course of world history the seaman in general, and the Master Mariner in particular, have contributed immeasurably to the development of science, culture and civilization. The great discoveries, lines of communication, and commerce of the world have been developed by seamen and by commercial interests who were lead, counseled and directed by Master Mariners.

WHEREAS, the Master Mariners of the United States of America recognized the professional accomplishments off those who have preceded them, and,

WHEREAS, they, the Master Mariners, desire to maintain and enhance the professional tradition by continuing to advance the causes of maritime science, did in the year 1936, form THE COUNCIL OF AMERICAN MASTER MARINERS.

NOW, THEREFORE, The Council of American Masters Mariners declares its objects shall be to advance the causes of Maritime and Nautical Science by recognizing training criteria; accepting standard practices; fostering the exchange of maritime information and experience; encouraging the publication and study of professional literature; assisting in maritime research; assuming a public and impartial responsibility; and cultivating a continuing attitude of learning within the profession.

The Council of American Master Mariners is pledged to serve no personal or private ambition or interest but to promote broad general policies for the benefit of the national interest and of maritime endeavors.

Chapters Chartered:

Houston Chapter April 6, 1967
New York Chapter September 12, 1967
San Francisco Bay Area Chapter Sept. 30, 1971
New Orleans Chapter February 25, 1975
Los Angeles/Long Beach Chapter Dec. 6, 1979
Seattle/Pacific North West Chapter May 26, 1981
Port Everglades/Miami Chapter January 31, 1984
Tampa Bay Area Chapter November 14, 1989
Hampton Roads/Tidewater Chapter Dec. 10, 1991
Baltimore/Washington Chapter December 11, 1991
Mobile Bay Area Chapter November 10, 1992
Columbia River Chapter April 15, 2002


Captain Paul C. Grening * 1937-1938
Captain Schuyler F. Cummings * 1939-1947
Captain William Ray Lawrence * 1948-1950
VADM Edward C. Holden USNR* 1951
Captain William McGuire * 1952-1953
RADM Leonard Frisco, USNR * 1954-1955
Captain Lawrence J. Hasse * 1956-1958
Captain John V. Redmond * 1959-1960
Captain Bernt J. Jacobsen * 1961-1962
Captain William W. Kuhne * 1963-1964
Captain James W. Maley * 1965-1966
Captain Cecil D. Davies Jr.* 1967
Captain Richard LePage * 1968-1969
Captain Edward Downing * 1970
Captain Stephen M. Seledee 1971-1972
Captain Robert J. Wall * 1973
Captain Kenneth C. Torrens *1974-1981
Captain Conrad P. Nilsen * 1982-1989
Captain Richard E. Manchester1990-1992
Captain Stephen E. Nadeau1993-1995
Captain Warren G. Leback1996-1999
Captain Frank Zabrocky2000-2002
Captain Charles E. Gedney* 2002-2004
Captain Thomas M. Bradley 2004-2008
Captain Cal Hunziker 2008-2012
Captain RJ Klein 2012-2016
Captain Jeff Cowan 2016-present
* Decesased

Honorary Members:
VADM. Ralph E, Wilson USN (Ret.)
Honorary Capt. Frank O. Braynard
Honorary Capt. Helen D. Bentley
RADM Lauren S. McCready USMS (Ret.)
RADM Sheldon H. Kinney USN (Ret.)
RADM Edward A. Rodgers USMS
Captain Charles Dana Gibson
RADM Paul Krinsky USMS (Ret.)
RADM Floyd H. Miller USN (Ret.)
RADM Thomas T. Matteson USMS (Ret.)
Capt. Jan de Hartog

Father Sinclair Oubre