— The Council of American Master Mariners, Inc. —

Lalonde Spirit of the Seas Award

2015 Recipient Captain Pat Moloney.

Captain Patrick Moloney, #1829-R, accepted this award from presenter Captain Don Moore, last year’s recipient, at the Closing Dinner.

Captain Moloney began his career at the at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, New York. In 1977, he joined Military Sealift Command, Pacific (MSCPAC) as a Third Officer. He was appointed Master in 1982 and was permanent master of the underway replenishment oiler USNS Hassayampa from 1984 to 1988. While aboard the Hassayampa, he was involved with three rescues of boat people from Vietnam, totaling 211 refugees (see story, Sidelights December 2011). He is well-respected by his colleagues, evident in that 75% of his crew was the same at the time he took command of the Hass as to the time he left.

In early 1989, Captain Moloney became the Marine Superintendent for MSCPAC, during which he also sailed relief master tours aboard several MSCPAC ships including the hospital ship USNS Mercy during San Francisco Fleet Week 1989.

In February 1993, Captain Moloney was appointed as the Executive Director of the State Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo and Suisun. He served in that position until retiring in late 2009.

Captain Moloney serves as the longest standing master (since 1996) aboard the National Liberty Ship Memorial, SS Jeremiah O’Brien for periodic cruises in the San Francisco Bay Area and also serves on The National Liberty Ship Memorial Board of Directors.

Captain Moloney served as IFSMA Vice President from 1998-2006, CAMM 2nd Vice President 1997-2005, and a total of nine years (not all consecutive) as San Francisco Bay Area CAMM Chapter President. Though officially retired, Captain Moloney remains active in the maritime community as a shipmaster, consultant, mentor and advocate for the maritime industry.

In his spare time, he works on building his model fleet, a 1:350 scale of the ships he has commanded.


The Father Maurice Lalonde Spirit of the Seas Award is the highest honor that the Council of American Master Mariners can give its members. It is named for one of our members, Captain/Father Maurice Lalonde. Father Lalonde, in his early career, graduated from the New York State Maritime Academy and served as a Naval Officer in WW II. He then went back to sea as a civilian mariner, sailing in all deck officer billets, including Master Mariner. He then came ashore and studied for the Catholic priesthood. After his ordination, he went back to sea for awhile and donated his salary to his priestly order. He again returned ashore and spent most of his remaining career as a foreign missionary. He obviously is a man of a tremendously giving nature. The recipients of this award represent this kind of overall selfless spirit.

Past recipients are:


Nominations for the Lalonde “Spirit of the Seas” award open in September and is awarded at the National Annual General Meeting the following spring.

The Lalonde “Spirit of the Seas” Award is the Council’s most distinguished honor. The award is made annually or as deemed appropriate by an Awards Committee comprised of the National’s five Regional Vice Presidents and Ex-Officio National President.

Nominations are open to any member, living or deceased, for all of the following: humanitarianism, professionalism, seamanship, life-time achievement and noteworthy accomplishments, along with contributions to the maritime industry and the 'Spirit of the Seas' in their everyday lives. An eligible nominee may be a member in any category of the CAMM National organization in good standing (who is/was current in their dues to CAMM National and to their chapter, if they were also chapter members). Individuals must be nominated by a CAMM National member who also is in good standing.

Download: Nomination Form

Please email your nomination form with supporting documents, if any to:

Captain Tim Brown

For additional applications, information or guidelines and rules, contact your Regional Vice President or your Chapter President.

All nominations must be postmarked by January 15

Winner Notification and Acceptance

The winner will be notified in advance by the Lalonde Review Committee. If nominee is the winner, he/she must make every effort to attend the annual meeting Awards’ Dinner. Because of the prestigious nature of this award, the winner’s Chapter should be an enabler to encourage and assist winner to be present to receive the award in person. If because of poor health, the winner can’t attend please list their designee (show name & ID number) who will accept the award in their behalf.